Join archaeologists Hendrik Van Gijseghem and François Gignac as they trace the city’s history in this captivating web series that reveals the secrets of a major archaeological site in Old Montréal!
At one time, one of the city’s most majestic buildings stood just a few steps from Pointe-à-Callière, on present-day Place D’Youville Street. Built in 1832, it housed St. Anne’s Market, a key meeting place for the city’s residents. Though it remains a little-known fact, in 1844, Montréal became the capital of Canada. And this same building served as the seat of Parliament until 1849. For four years, this is where critical decisions were taken for the advancement of Canadian democracy, before the Parliament building was burned down.
It would take close to two hundred years for its remains to be excavated, at the Museum’s initiative. Despite the fire and the passage of time, over 350,000 artefacts have been unearthed at the site—thousands of object fragments that our archaeologists have tasked themselves with further understanding and explaining.